Think of asynchronous conversations as of any messenger apps you use (WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, etc.). Your friends may not always be online but that doesn’t mean your message won’t reach them. You can still message them and they will likely get back to you at a later time.
The green dot will indicate that the visitor is currently online and you are chatting in real-time. A red dot indicates that the visitor is currently away from the chat. In this case, don’t wait for an answer. You can snooze the conversation and it will allow you to continue chatting with the visitor, once he/she comes back.
Scenario 1: The visitor is online but unresponsive. Prompt them by reminding them that you are still here. If they continue to be unresponsive, you have an option to snooze the chat. Make sure you let the visitor know that you will be snoozing the conversation for the time being, but they may get back to it at any time. Then, you may proceed to snooze the conversation for the desired period of time (we recommend snoozing for 24 hours). The chat will pop back up in two cases: the visitor has come back and responded or the snooze period expired. In case of the latter, you may snooze the conversation one more time for 24 hours. If the visitor has not come back after that second snooze period expired, you may close the chat. Make sure to say good-bye to the visitor and kindly ask to fill out a customer service survey before you do that.
How do I recognize an asynchronous conversation?
If you see the header with a message about snoozing the conversation, you are handling an asynchronous conversation!
By clicking on the "Learn more" link, you will access a modal with information about the asynchronous mode.
How will my availability slots work with asynchronous messaging?
You will handle asynchronous conversations by using the same availability slots you already use for real-time conversations!
In other words, if you can receive up to 3 chat conversations, you will receive a limit of 3 chat conversations that will be either synchronous or asynchronous chats.
So, what makes asynchronous messaging different from instant messaging?
Visitors can start a conversation even if no experts are available to answer in real-time.
Immediately after sending their message, they will receive an automatic message designed by the brand. Such as:
“ Hi there! Leave us a message and we'll get back to you as soon as possible. If you don't have a quick reply, come back later, the team typically replies in a few hours!”
As soon as an expert becomes available to handle a new conversation, it will appear on his/her conversation panel.
Once the conversation received, there are two possibilities:
- The visitor is still on the website (green dot). You can have a real-time conversation.
- The visitor has left the brand's website (red dot). You can reply and the visitor will see your response when he/she comes back to the brand's website.
Best practice: when the visitor is offline and you have sent the last message, it is unnecessary to wait for an answer from the visitor or leave the conversation open on the conversation panel. In this case, it is preferable to snooze the conversation or end it.
What should I do if visitors don't respond to the last message I have sent them?
Visitors who contact you via asynchronous messaging can leave the brand's website before you answer their questions or leave in the middle of a conversation!
You can "snooze" this conversation for a period of:
- 3 hours
- 1 day
- A personalized date at the time of your choosing using the "snooze" button
This action will allow you to free up an availability slot and enable you to handle another chat conversation.
- If the visitor responds to your last message, the conversation will be reattributed to you!
- If the visitor doesn't respond after the snooze period, the conversation will reappear in your conversation panel to re-snooze or definitely end it.
Please note that asynchronous conversations are never automatically closed. The visitor cannot close the conversation.
How do I get paid with asynchronous conversations?
Contact based missions
Exactly the same as real-time conversation: at conversation’s end.
If you decide to snooze the conversation, you will not get paid yet as you consider the conversation as in-progress.
But if you close the conversation after a snooze period, then you’ll get paid!
Transaction commission based missions
Exactly the same as real-time conversation: if the visitor buys on-site during the conversation or within 48h after the end of the conversation.